Welcome to Start-Up 22

Welcome to Start-Up 22

We should have called this start-up i-pay, but i-pay refused to pay us, so we chose Receive.

Side Hustle Bootcamp, right?

First thing first. Why do you learn a new skill? Why do you go out of your comfort zone to add more finesse to the skill you already have? There are many answers, but I'll give just one. Everyone is looking for an advantage. What you want to do with that advantage is up to you.

We want to contribute to something bigger than ourselves, but we also want to get value in return. At the intersection of the human relationship is the exchange of value, both tangible and intangible. The value we get in return is what lets us live out our real dreams and focus on the things that matter to us. This value could be money, prestige or impact. Whatever it is, you always start from somewhere. Finding the skills you need to arrive at this point is the very first thing to do. That is why I have a team of 50+ people to lead. We are to develop an interesting start-up. So what is our brief?

A startup that extends the integration of the Fintech API to make it easier for developers to integrate payments into their own app or website.

I am Ihuarulam Caleb, and I am the team leader of the group. I volunteered to lead, but my track is for a product manager. Why? I want to build amazing products that help people. I don't want to bore you with my personal ambitions, but in the last few years, I have challenged myself to lead things and initiatives. Not only that, but I am incredibly laid back, but I thought that if I would get the best of this, I might as well dive in as deep as I can. So I volunteered. Word of caution, it is as deep as you can imagine.

Try to organize 10 people you have never to achieve a project, you all got the brief at the same time. You can tell us all about it. I'm incredibly grateful I get to share this privilege with amazing people. Some of my teammates have reached out.

I know that this will be fun, but I also know that it will also be incredibly challenging. The first sign? We failed our first task woefully. We were supposed to name the start-up. We chose i-pay. Unfortunately, I-pay had already been taken by a payment platform. We didn't find out until we actually had to create social media accounts. I took more than 12 hours of ideation and thinking to come up with the name we are currently using - Receive. By this time, other teams had streaked ahead and already had logos and brand documents.

That said, you would want to ask, are we ready? You bet.